Enter your email address and click subscribe to receive new articles in your email inbox:

Tetzlaff's Bach Phenomenal

    Posted: Oct 12, 2004 - 9:04:59 PM in: reviews_2004
Christian Tetzlaff
Violinist Christian Tetzlaff dazzled his audience with a complete performance of Bach's sonatas and partitas for unaccompanied violin Oct. 11 at Memorial Hall in Cincinnati.  The astounding concert, performed completely from memory, lasted from 4 to 8 p.m. with two fifteen-minute intermissions and a break for dinner.  The occasion was the celebration of the 75th anniversary of the Cincinnati Chamber Music Society (first published in The Cincinnati Post Oct. 11, 2004).
  - [Read more]

Mozart Sings, Brahms Zings

    Posted: Sep 26, 2004 - 11:32:46 PM in: reviews_2004
A gypsy rondo, a military retreat and some elegant Mozart featuring pianist Emanuel Ax made for a tasty concert by Paavo Jarvi and the Cincinnati Symphony Sept. 24 at Music Hall first published in The Cincinnati Post Sept. 25, 2004)
  - [Read more]

Azmari Bows in with Bartok

    Posted: Sep 26, 2004 - 11:48:26 AM in: reviews_2004
The Azmari Quartet, newly appointed ensemble-in-residence at Northern Kentucky University, bowed in with Beethoven, Bartok and Brahms Sept. 24 in NKU's Greaves Concert Hall.  Designated Corbett String Quartet in Residence, the foursome, who were trained at the Cleveland Institute of Music, comprises violinists Christina Merblum and MinTze Wu, violist Meghan Casper and cellist Rebecca Merblum.  They succeed the Amernet String Quartet, which left in May to joint the faculty at Florida International University in Miami (first published in The Cincinnati Post Sept. 25, 2004) .
  - [Read more]

CSO Opens Season With Moving Epic "Kullervo"

    Posted: Sep 18, 2004 - 10:06:59 PM in: reviews_2004
Two important debuts opened the Cincinnati Symphony Orchestra's 2004-05 season Sept. 17 and 18 at Music Hall:  Jean Sibelius' dramatic symphony "Kullervo," based on a tragic tale from the Finnish epic "Kalevala," and the peerless Estonian National Male Choir with soprano Charlotte Hellekant and baritone Jaako Kortekangas.  CSO music director and fellow Estonian Paavo Järvi conducted a powerful performance that left the audience seemingly stunned before rising in a prolonged ovation (first published in The Cincinnati Post Sept. 18, 2004).
  - [Read more]

CSO Chamber Players Fill Important Niche

    Posted: May 9, 2004 - 8:15:27 PM in: reviews_2004
The Cincinnati Symphony Orchestra's popular "Bach and Beyond" summer chamber orchestra series is gone, a victim of budget-cutting.  Filling an important niche for the CSO musicians, however, is the CSO Chamber Players, who closed their 2004 season May 7 with works by Piazzolla, Mozart, Claude Bolling and Smetana (first published in The Cincinnati Post May 8, 2004).
  - [Read more]

Järvi Takes CSO to the Edge

    Posted: May 8, 2004 - 11:45:54 PM in: reviews_2004
Paavo Järvi and the Cincinnati Symphony closed their third season together with Beethoven's Seventh Symphony and it was anything but business as usual.  Call it bouyant, boisterous, even balletic.  Guest artist Yefim Bronfman put in his hand(s), too, with a knockout performance of Prokofiev's Piano Concerto No. 2 (first published in The Cincinnati Post May 7, 2004).    - [Read more]

Barcelona Comes Up Roses

    Posted: Apr 1, 2004 - 11:54:15 AM in: reviews_2004
The ornate Palau de la Musica Catalana was the site of the last stop on the Cincinnati Symphony Orchestra's current tour of Europe with music director Paavo Järvi.  From Nielsen's bubbly "Maskarade" Overture to a pair of encores, enclosing Sibelius' Fifth Symphony and an exceptional Beethoven Piano Concerto No. 4 with Helene Grimaud, the concert was extravagantly received (first published in The Cincinnati Post April, 2004).
  - [Read more]

From Bach to Kick Drum, the Remarkable CSO Chamber Players

    Posted: Feb 7, 2004 - 8:00:37 PM in: reviews_2004
The CSO Chamber Players opened their 14th season at Memorial Hall downtown with a wide-ranging program indeed.  There was Bach's Brandenburg Concerto No. 6, Miklos Rozsa's Sonata for Two Violins, the Ravel Quartet, Elgar's Duet for Trombone and Bass and Roger Kellaway's "Esque," also for trombone and bass, where CSO principal bassist Owen Lee did double duty on a kick drum (first published in The Cincinnati Post Feb. 7, 2004).
  - [Read more]